Ghost

Tell me what it was
That made you become
All that you swore you’d damn,
A monster to your self?
You promised me you’d never fall
All while I believed it all
You’re not the man that I recall
You’re just a ghost, That’s all you are

You are not the man you were.
Just another faint specter.
A failure in my mind.
There’s nothing inside of you.

You are not the man you were.
Just another faint specter.
A failure in my mind.
There’s nothing inside of you.

Inside you.
Inside your heart.

You’re just an image of your former self.
A faded shadow of what was.
Your silhouette bears familiarity.
But it’s not the same, it will never be the same.
You’ve expelled what it was that made you who you were.
Rejected all that I held love for
Though you breathe, and have a heart that beats
You’re the Ghost that haunts me
The ghost of who you used to be.

You are gone.
You are gone.
You are a ghost.

A ghost. A ghost.
Though you breathe, and have a heart that beats
You’re the Ghost that haunts me
The ghost of who you used to be.

A ghost. A ghost
Though you breath, and have a heart that beats
You’re the Ghost that haunts me
The ghost of who you used to be.

You are not the man you were.
Just another faint specter.
A failure in my mind.
There’s nothing inside of you.

You are not the man you were.
Just another faint specter.
A failure in my mind.
There’s nothing inside of you.

You’re just an image of your former self.
A faded shadow of what was.
Your silhouette bears familiarity.
But it’s not the same, it will never be the same.
You’ve expelled what it was that made you who you were.
Rejected all that I held love for.
Though you breathe, and have a heart that beats
You’re the Ghost that haunts me
The ghost of who you used to be.

 

 

Inspiration:

So. This is a piece that I wrote based on someone I no longer speak to. It’s about someone that I once loved deeply. You could say that there is love for him still present within me, but it is for who he was. Not who he is now. He was once a wonderful man, but something within him changed. He became different. He became a totally different person. The man he was died and thus, so did my love for him.

Leave a Reply

