Verity in Reflections

Side by side, two pictures of my self.
I find it alarming the differences I see.
Four years upon my face;
The aging is apparent.
But that isn’t what troubles me.

I can see the tiredness.
I can see the joylessness.
I can see the hopelessness.
But I cannot see me.

Four years of toil.
The world has left me jaded.
It’s striped me of joy,
And ripped out my heart.

Ache has been replaced with emptiness.
Is it worse to feel the pain or feel nothing at all?

I can see the tiredness.
I can see the joylessness.
I can see the hopelessness.
But I cannot see me.

Perhaps I am the ghost.
Perhaps I’m the one who’s changed.
As I gaze upon my younger self.
A stranger is gazing back at me.

I can see the tiredness.
I can see the joylessness.
I can see the hopelessness.
But I cannot see me.

My youthful hope was crushed.
The child in me is dead.

I’m just a image of my former self.
A faded shadow of what was.
my silhouette bears familiarity but its not the same,
It will never be the same.
I gave up what it was that made me who I was,
Rejected all that I held hope for.

There has been a change in me
A change beyond unsettling
I do not see me.
I do not see me.

There has been a change in me
One that has laid waste to my soul
I do not see me
I do not see me

I can see the tiredness.
I can see the joylessness.
I can see the hopelessness.
But I cannot see me.

Face to face, I glare in the mirror.
It troubles me the hatred I see.
Four years ago I held such hope;
What troubles me is the stranger I see.

Leave a Reply

