The First Step

I cannot help but pity you as I watch you suffer.
You writhe in pain in the same way that I used to.
I want to help you and I want to make it go away.
But you fight me and keep me at arms length.

Unrequited love, abandonment, and crippling despair.
All feelings that I know all too well.
The cause of your pain is within eyesight.
And I assure you, that is the first problem.

Remove the source.
Cast it away.
Scour the surface,
For any trace of remnants.
If you want to heal,
Then you must move on.
It’s the first step of many.
Disconnect.
Remove.
Separate.
Amputate.

Your heart adheres itself to a malignant entity.
Causing withering from within.
Destruction of self.
If you want to heal;
If you want to be whole again,
Purge the infection and light it aflame.

Remove the source.
Cast it away.
Scour the surface,
For any trace of remnants.
If you want to heal,
Then you must move on.
It’s the first step of many.
Disconnect.
Remove.
Separate.
Amputate.

You know it to be true.
You remain in contact
With the source of your strife.
It falls on you, you know what you must do.
This is all I can do. I offer you my wisdom.
Wisdom born of experience.
Scars that could have been circumvented.
I bare my heart so that you may avoid the same.

Leave a Reply

