Hope

What is this feeling?
This feeling I’ve felt before.
The strange familiarity.
The nagging nostalgia.
I know I’ve been here before. I know I’ve felt this before.
But as much as I wonder,
I can’t remember it’s name.

This feeling is warm.
This feeling is bright.
This feeling is benign.
This feeling is safe.
But I cannot remember for the life of me
What this feeling is named.

It’s all too familiar for me not to see.
A surge of serenity is rushing through me.
It carries me back so many years.
It’s a sense of glee that forestalls my fears.

This feeling is warm.
This feeling is bright.
This feeling is benign.
This feeling is safe.
But I cannot remember for the life of me
What this feeling is named.

Nostalgia pulls like a child to it’s mother’s sleeve.
It begs me to see what it has to show.
What I’m feeling now brings a smile to my face
Just like it did so many years ago.

This feeling is warm.
This feeling is bright.
This feeling is benign.
This feeling is safe.
But I cannot remember for the life of me
What this feeling is named.

I look forward to tomorrow every waking moment
Just like I used to do when I was so much younger.
This is a level of comfort I’ve forgotten
And it’s come crashing back into my open arms

This feeling is warm.
This feeling is bright.
This feeling is benign.
This feeling is safe.
And I finally remember
What this feeling is named.

Hope is it’s name.

This feeling is Hope.

Leave a Reply

