Gratitude

This place I stand.
Where I live and breath.
This is all thanks to you.
It’s all because you pushed me.
But lets get one thing straight.
I got here on my own.
All you did was set me on my path,
You are the one I did surpass.

You set me on the path to surpass.
It was you all along who will finish last.
My voice will be heard for years to come,
While yours will be just a distant memory.
The masses will scream my name.
A name that will be committed to legend.
Like a spider beneath my boot.
You are nothing. And you always will be nothing.

So Thank You.

Any normal person would see it much different
Most others would say “Fuck you”
But not I. I see it much differently.
I shouldn’t be condemning you.
Even though you deserve nothing less than hell.
Instead, I tip my hat, and show my gratitude.

You set me on the path to surpass.
It was you all along who will finish last.
My voice will be heard for years to come,
While yours will be just a distant memory.
The masses will scream my name.
A name that will be committed to legend.
Like a spider beneath my boot.
You are nothing. And you always will be nothing.

So Thank You.

You made me feel worthless.
You stole my friends from me.
You diminished my talents.
And threatened my safety.
Rather than grow bitter,
I chose a different course.
I took your talent, made it mine,
And I made you look like an insect before me.

Now whose talents are worthless?
Now who is nothing?

You set me on the path to surpass.
It was you all along who will finish last.
My voice will be heard for years to come,
While yours will be just a distant memory.
The masses will scream my name.
A name that will be committed to legend.
Like a spider beneath my boot.
You are nothing. And you always will be nothing.

So Thank You.

This was written in dedication to the… Lovely gentleman who made me take up scream vocals. If not for the way he treated me when I was pursuing keyboards/synthesizers, I would have never learned to do scream vocals and subsequently, put his scream vocals to shame. I’ve surpassed you. I know there is a 99.9 percent chance that you will never read this, but if you do, I want you to know how grateful I am. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

