Memories Part II

My past does not rule my life.
My past will not determine who I am.
My past will not destroy my future.
My past will stay where it belongs.

I will prevail despite these recurring memories.
I will press on against the coming tide.

To hell with the pain that comes with remembrance.
I’ll find a better way without the ones that were the cause.
My past won’t be used against me a single time more.
That pain can’t be used as a weapon anymore.
I’ve turned my back upon the people that I once adored.
I’m dead to them, they’re dead to me; of this I can be sure.
Whats the point of holding on? My heart will just be torn.
So here’s to the future; let new memories be born.

So here’s to the future; let new memories be born.

I will prevail despite these recurring memories.
I will press on against the coming tide.
I look forward to the future and all it holds in store.
My past will stay where it belongs. Behind me forever more.

Behind me forever more.

Leave a Reply

