Outside, Looking in

I shut the door that allowed you to see the life I’m living.
I wanted you gone. I wanted you to know that I shut you out.
In the time I’ve spent behind this dead bolted door,
My life has flourished. My life began to progress.
I’ve made friends, changes, steps that led to success, and decisions.
And one of the decisions I’ve made was to open that door once more.

It was not to let you back in.
It was not for me to leave through it to find you.
It was not for anything other than one thing.
I opened it so you can see inside once more.

I’ve decided that I want you to see the life I live.

I want you to see my triumphs.
I want you to see my success.
I want you to see my Joy.

Because I want you to see just what you relinquished.
I want you to know what you’ve lost.
And I want you to know what you’ll never have again.

I hope you enjoy the view.
Because that’s all you will ever have of me.

A view from the outside, looking in.

Leave a Reply

