Ghost (Revised)

Tell me what it was
That made you become
All that you swore you’d damn;
A monster to your self?
You promised me you’d never fall.
I foolishly believed it all.
You’re not the man that I recall.
You’re just a ghost of who you were.

It was never me. You are the one who has changed.

You’re just an image of your former self;
A faded shadow of what was.
Your silhouette bears familiarity,
But it’s not the same, it will never be the same.
You gave up what it was that made you who you were.
Rejected all that I held love for.
Though you breathe and have a heart that beats,
You’re the ghost that haunts me.
The ghost of who you used to be.

Your eyes are no longer bright.
Your breath is no longer warm.
You’ve condemned the man I loved.
Callously, heartlessly, Laid yourself to rest.
So conduct your final rights.
You might as well be dead anyway.
Because your actions to this point,
were clearly all for naught.

Because…

You’re just an image of your former self;
A faded shadow of what was.
Your silhouette bears familiarity,
But it’s not the same, it will never be the same.
You gave up what it was that made you who you were.
Rejected all that I held love for.
Though you breathe and have a heart that beats,
You’re the ghost that haunts me.
The ghost of who you used to be.

But now, Even though you seem long dead.
I can feel your heart still beats somewhat the same.
You’re still in there. I know you are.
Don’t let this go to waste.
Come back to those who love you.
Before it’s too late.
Prove to me you’re not a ghost.
Prove to me you’re still capable of love.

Until then…

You’re just an image of your former self;
A faded shadow of what was.
Your silhouette bears familiarity,
But it’s not the same, it will never be the same.
You gave up what it was that made you who you were.
Rejected all that I held love for.
Though you breathe and have a heart that beats,
You’re the ghost that haunts me.
The ghost of who you used to be.

But I wont give up on you.
Even if you’ve given up on me.
Even if you’ve given up on yourself.
Not yet. I’m not done yet.

Leave a Reply

