The Grieving Process Part 4: Depression

It wasn’t long ago. But it feels like eons.
I lie here all alone, missing you so.

I can’t get up. I can’t go on.
I can’t see my life going anywhere but down.
You’ve made it clear and I know you’re gone.
I was not enough and I’ll never be enough.

Has it been hours or days?
Is it day or night?
My perception of time is askew.
The pain within is ever present.

You refuse to speak to me.
You refuse to explain.
I’m suffocating, my heart is failing.
I choke on my words as I barely speak your name.

I can’t get up. I can’t go on.
I can’t see my life going anywhere but down.
You’ve made it clear and I know you’re gone.
I was not enough and I’ll never be enough.

Everything is a numb interaction.
I feel nothing. I want nothing.
My breath is slowing. But my life’s not ending.
The poison is coursing through me.

You pushed me down.
You wont help me up.
My spirit’s fading. My will is caving.
I’m blinded by tears; my eyes are raining.

I can’t get up. I can’t go on.
I can’t see my life going anywhere but down.
You’ve made it clear and I know you’re gone.
I was not enough and I’ll never be enough.

I will never be enough.

Leave a Reply

