A Eulogy For The Departed

I wish I could have met you,
Before this life broke you.
I wish I could have known you,
Before the world destroyed you.
I wish I could have held you,
Before you lost emotion.
I wish I could have loved you,
Before your heart was broken.

What a wonderful person you must have been,
Before the weight of burden was placed upon you.
I lament that I couldn’t know you before the pain.
I lament that I couldn’t meet him before he departed
I fear that no one ever mourned this innocence lost,
So I offer the words that you likely never heard.
Rest in peace, for this world is grossly unjust
To murder the innocence that you used to have.

I wish I could have met you,
Before this life broke you.
I wish I could have known you,
Before the world destroyed you.
I wish I could have held you,
Before you lost emotion.
I wish I could have loved you,
Before your heart was broken.

I wonder exactly what it was
That put him to rest.
I ponder this night and day.
I lie awake, wishing I knew.
Though now, it’s impossible
To see your true nature,
I still wish that I could see him.
In all the joy that he held.

I wish I could have met you,
Before this life broke you.
I wish I could have known you,
Before the world destroyed you.
I wish I could have held you,
Before you lost emotion.
I wish I could have loved you,
Before your heart was broken.

Leave a Reply

